Running in London

April 24, 2006 Comments Off on Running in London

Putney Bridge at night, taken by David Edgar

Just had a week software training in the UK and as I’m preparing for the 20k of Brussels, I had to go out for a run. I was lucky enough to stay in the Runnymede Hotel.

So on Wednesday I went for a quiet, nice run along the river. A welcome change to hilly Brussels. I have almost no option than to go up- and downhill when running here.

On Saturday, Karen and I were staying with friends, and they told me that we were only 5 minutes away from the river, so I had a nice run between Putney Bridge and Hammersmith Bridge alongside the river again. Saturday was a lovely day, but what made me more cheerfull than running next to the river on a sunny day, was the number of spontaneous encouragments I got. One woman wished me good luck for “tomorrow” (Sunday was the London marathon). On all those runs in the Bois de la Cambre, or around the Ixelles lakes, I never got one single encouragment, let alone respect.

What I have to deal with here, is groups of friends or families taking over the whole pavement forcing you to go on the road…

Anyway, although I probably have some tendinitis (I’ll take it easy this week), I’m getting in shape for the 20km. (Heart rate under control, speed is going up slowly, and I ran for 70 minutes on Saturday, no problemo) Let’s just hope I don’t finish to far behind my dad!

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Running in London at plαdys.

meta

