Running in Holland

June 12, 2006 § 3 Comments

Back in Shiphol-Rijk, and like last time when I was still preparing for the 20km of Brussels, I took my running shoes and shorts with me.

Today was a beautiful day, a bit warm but after not doing any sports (holiday Chicago about which I haven’t blogged yet and sickness!) for 2 weeks it was time.

It’s massive hayfever period as well, but I had taken my pills and took the risk to go out in the country. I haven’t fully recovered from the illness yet, and I suppose that 30 degrees Celcius isn’t ideal. But the landscape, although flat and an airport to the west (I just look east) is worth it. There is just so much water around here! I saw a herron at 2m (the damn thing wasn’t scared), geese, 2 Egyptian Nile geese, ducklings, ducks and babes on boats (going off-topic, but nonetheless noticed them).

I ran from Aalsmeerderbrug to Shiphol-Oost and back (1hr, which was way to fast!), and feel free to zoom in to the landscape, it’s awesome (more about that word in a next blog entry). So on my way out, I had the canal to my right and had the entry point of one of the landing strips of Schiphol airport to my left. Maps.google.com is kinda cool (what’s happening to my lingo today!)



I am really getting into this running thing (runner’s high does exist), maybe I should endeavour something silly like a marathon? I’ll think about it…others do it! Or do I risk going completely mental?

§ 3 Responses to Running in Holland

What’s this?

You are currently reading Running in Holland at plαdys.

meta

