Changing jobs

October 19, 2006 § 2 Comments

That’s it, I’ve handed in my notice this afternoon, and I can announce my friends and colleagues that I’m leaving BMC Software after 5 and 1/2 years to go to Oracle.

In general it has been a good 5 years in which I have seen the company change from a simple system management vendor to a complete service management vendor. I have seen acquisitions, some even from very close when we acquired IT Masters (a Belgian Company), I have lived through a collective dismissal and some other layoffs. We had the merger of the BeLux and the Netherlands organisation. I have had 4 direct managers and 3 country managers. (even 6 HR Managers!)

I guess you think it was a very volatile environment, and I must admit a bit too volatile to be good. Not that this is the reason I’m leaving. There is the money, there is the company I can stand behind, there are also a number of challenges and much more direct involvement in my variable salary.

Time for a rest and a drink while waiting for my holiday that starts next Saturday!

Despite my leaving, I’ll keep on reading my future ex-colleague Peter Armstrong’s blog.

§ 2 Responses to Changing jobs

  • Mich says:

    Good luck at your new job 🙂

    I’ll let you know when I have some SQL problems !

  • Mikey's blog says:

    Cuba was luuuvely! We have a nice tan (I think I’ll go to the pool next week!), we’ve seen a fair amount of Cuba (this is the 15th biggest island, and it’s f*ck1n9 long), food wasn’t great, rum was cheap and obviously drunk in vast amount (maybe I shouldn

What’s this?

You are currently reading Changing jobs at plαdys.

meta

