Training

April 10, 2007 Comments Off on Training

Just like last year, I’ll be participating at the 20km of Brussels. Without boring you about details of training mechanism (I did do a a serious amount of sports when I was much younger!), the images from www.polarpersonaltrainer.com coming from my Polar heart rate monitor are just too interesting not to discuss them for a second.

On Sunday I did an interval training. As I still don’t have a good feeling of how fast I run, I leave it up to a computer and go to the fitness centre. The program was very simple. Warming up (1.5km @ 10km/h), 7 x (1.2km @ 12km/h + 0.2km @ 10km/h) + Cooling down (1.3km @ 10km/h) + 1 minute walk @ 5km/h

Last year, you couldn’t recognise this pattern in the visualisation of the heart rate. The thing was that after a couple of intervals, the 0.2km was hardly enough to recuperate. Now you can see that, although it become more and more of a struggle towards the end, I do recuperate after every interval.

This is my morning run as performed today. An easy, slow run and also that shows. As I run in open air, there are some hurdles in the woods like little hills which make my heart rate go up, but in the beginning and at the end, there’s a red light where I have to stop. Now I should find a way of mapping that together with my Yahoo map that I created to show where I’ve run.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Training at plαdys.

meta

