Über alles

June 18, 2008 Comments Off on Über alles

I got a bit shocked by today’s news about the Swiss television showing the wrong version of the German Anthem today. Not so much about the news itself, but more so about the fact that I thought I knew the first lines, but apparently not. What I seem to know is the Nazi version. Nowadays, people only sing the third stanza (do they?)

During the Nazi era, the first verse was the official anthem but was dropped after World War Two and the third stanza was adopted by the Federal Republic of Germany.
“One of our junior subtitlers made the error due to a lack of knowledge,” Linder said, adding that the woman in question was 25 years old.

Source: Reuters
Some of you readers might know that I was member of the Belgian national swimming team on many occasions. On those occasions, we never minded sitting next to the Germans as they had Franziska Von Almsick amongst their ranks. But I have always had the impression they were actually singing “Deutschland, Deutschland über alles, Über alles in der Welt…”, and I cannot remember them singing “Einigkeit und Recht und Freiheit Für das deutsche Vaterland!”. Maybe I didn’t listen very well…

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Über alles at plαdys.

meta

