Google latitude freakiness

February 12, 2009 § 2 Comments

Google latitude screenshot shows my being in Zaventem Airport... on TwitPicI was working in our new office in Vilvoorde today, when I got freaked out by Google latitude telling me I was in the old office. Google latitude gets automatically updated through my work phone (Nokia E51) which is not connected to the LAN at work. So the geodata it’s sending must come from the mobile network.
I understand that this geodata can be a bit off, it might be off with a whole kilometer for my part. But that it points exactly to where the previous office was, is kind of scary. Unless somebody comes with a very good explanation.

§ 2 Responses to Google latitude freakiness

  • Marie Lemaître says:

    Beste Pladys,

    Vergeef me dat ik dit hier post, maar ik heb geen manier gevonden om u een message te sturen via deze of uw andere blog, maar misschien heb ik gewoon verkeerd gekeken.

    Mijn naam is Marie Lemaître en ik ben laatstejaarsstudent communicatiewetenschappen aan de Universiteit Gent. Mijn thesis handelt over blogs en het gedrag van bloggers en bloglezers.

    Om dit te onderzoeken zou ik graag om uw medewerking vragen. Voor dit onderzoek zal ik twee surveys afnemen. Indien u wenst mee te werken gelieve uw emailadres aan het begin van de eerste survey achter te laten, zodat ik u gemakkelijk kan bereiken voor de tweede survey. Als u uw medewerking wenst te verlenen gelieve dan de vragen zo eerlijk mogelijk te beantwoorden.

    De eerste survey vind u hier:
    http://www.thesistools.com/?qid=70498&ln=ned

    Het invullen van de vragenlijst zou een vijftiental minuutjes in beslag nemen. Uw gegevens worden volledig anoniem verwerkt.

    Uw antwoorden worden ten zeerste op prijs gesteld.

    Alvast heel erg bedankt voor uw deelname aan dit onderzoek.

    Marie Lemaître

  • Kristof Rutten says:

    You probably took the accesspoints of the wifi network with you?

    If it works the same way as the iPhones maps application it relies on a WAP database in combination with cell tower information. I had the same problem at the office. A colleagues home accesspoint was brought in the office and all of a sudden my phone told me I was 30km’s away from the office, inside my colleagues house.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Google latitude freakiness at plαdys.

meta

