Book review: Hot Shoe Diaries

May 22, 2009 Comments Off on Book review: Hot Shoe Diaries

I finally managed to get through Joe McNally’s book! I usually don’t do book reviews on this blog, but this book has kept me busy for a while for a number of reasons.
First of all, it wasn’t obvious from Amazon that this book would actually go from a Nikon point of view. But hey, with a bit of good will, you càn translate the message that he brings to other brands. So I won’t go on about it, that’s between me and Amazon. The back of the book clearly indicates the Nikon connection.
The way Joe McNally works is an interesting read and I did learn a couple of very interesting tricks. So the content is great, but…
The biggest problem with this book is that it isn’t well written. It took me a while to get through it as I got terribly annoyed with every page. As good as McNally is as a photographer, as poor are his writing skills. It’s shocking to see that this book has either not been reviewed or either been reviewed by a person who’s English is as poor as McNally’s.
The language used is foul and disturbing. Mostly he’s just writing like he talks (which is maybe good enough for a blog, not for a book! spoken english ≠ written english), but sometimes he writes things where you can only stop reading for a couple of seconds to look again in disbelief.
Couple of extreme examples:

Who’da thunk it
“A little bit of dis and a little bit of dat
“So whaddya do when ….”
“… and done some others an outright disservice just by the way I brung the light”

Had it not been for this, I might have even read it back to back. So if you’d like to buy the book, be prepared to indulge in agony over the English language to get to the extremely good content.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book review: Hot Shoe Diaries at plαdys.

meta

