iOS 4: miss and hit

June 8, 2010 Comments Off on iOS 4: miss and hit

  • Multitasking: i always thought this was a requirement, but to be fair, I don’t miss it that much on a smartphone.
  • Folders: hmm… will have to see what the advantage over the current way of working with screens is
  • Improved Mail:multiple mail accounts in a single inbox, open attachments in 3rd party apps.
    I had hoped to get functionality like: mark as unread, mark as flagged. I get a lot of mail I read whilst on the move, but can’t handle immediately. Mark as flagged is a MUST for me
  • iBooks – browse, buy, and read eBooks. I’ve done that already via synching Dropbox with my computer
  • Create iPod playlists : about time!
  • 5x Digital Zoom : that’s basically cropping upfront, but I could already do that afterwards in apps, and probably more accurately as well
  • Tap to Focus Video – video will refocus to whatever you tap on screen, cool!
  • Faces & Places in Photos: I’d solved that via Smart Albums, but live in the phone is better
  • Home Screen Wallpaper : nice, but irrelevant for a smartphone, not?
  • Gift Apps – send apps as gifts to others. Still doesn’t solve the problem when wanting to donate apps or songs to godchilderen in UK who are on another store!
  • Spell Checking: nice if you only type in one language. Would like to see how easy it is to change the spellchecker between dutch, french and english
  • Wireless Keyboard Support: pffff…

The new hardware is a HIT btw. Could have done without the gyroscope, but hey… some people do play games, not? The screen seems magnificent, and the extended battery time is also a good idea. I’m pretty happy with my current 3Gs, and will probably make the switch to the new phone when moving to the UK when I get it via O2. Extra camera, plus HD cam on the back? That seems quite cool. And there’s a LED to illuminate scenes in the dark.

If only Apple spent the same amount of time in improving the software as the hardware, they’d be miles ahead of everyone.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading iOS 4: miss and hit at plαdys.

meta

