Internet Illiteracy

December 9, 2010 Comments Off on Internet Illiteracy

The top searches for google.co.uk are:
Facebook, BBC, Youtube, Hotmail, eBay, Google, You, Games, Mail, News.
I mean: seriously? From my interpretation from the top 6, I think that a lot of people don’t know how to differentiate between an address bar and a search engine.
I think that’s scary… not so much that the general public is stupid, I think we all know that (and obviously we all think that the others are the stupdid ones). What’s scary here is that, despite having no knowledge about computers and internet, everyone has one and surfs the internet!

I bet that the people who launched attacks on visa.com, mastercard.com and paypal.com yesterday, are very happy with all the illiterates who have clicked yes when some obscure web site asked for some approval, thereby installing a little attack bot to be used for such attacks.

By the way, wasn’t typing Google into Google a bit dangerous?

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Internet Illiteracy at plαdys.

meta

