Project London: settling

May 3, 2011 Comments Off on Project London: settling

Aaaaargghhhhhh!!!!
Dealing with banks in UK is complicated. You’d think that with so many people coming over to live in London, it’d be easier to set up a bank account. Nothing seems to be made more difficult than that!
All banks I’ve talked to need proof that I live in the UK. Phone bills, heating bills,…or proof from embassy! Just that all bills for the apartment are in the name of Karen. So I thought I’d check the Embassy of Belgium in London. Now they too require proof of living there: phone bills, heating bills, … before I can register.

Chicken-and-egg.

Well… I’ve found one bank that has found a niche market… HSBC offers a service at 8£/month, minimally 12 months to give me a bank account and in return they will also send me bills at the address.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Project London: settling at plαdys.

meta

