Whispersync for Twitter

March 6, 2012 Comments Off on Whispersync for Twitter

For those of us who know about Whispersync from Amazon, the title should be enough. No need to read on. For the others then….

Whispersync: what’s that?

If you read the same Kindle Store book across multiple Kindles, you’ll find Whispersync makes it easy for you to switch back and forth. Whispersync synchronizes the bookmarks and furthest page read among devices registered to the same account.

I can’t believe Twitter still doesn’t have a mechanism to keep track of what I’ve already read or not. OK, when it comes to my general timeline and lists, I can understand that that’s challenging. But my DMs and Mentions/Replies, that shouldn’t be too hard though, should it? But the truth is, if after a whole time, I decide to login to the twitter.com website again, I see all the DMs and Mentions I haven’t read since last login. Well, last login via the website at least. I’ve already read them on my Mac client and iPhone client, twice…

A small piece of technology that keeps track of what one’s already read, to be used across the multiple clients we use, that’s yesterday’s technology… still not implemented at Twitter Inc.

Tagged: ,

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Whispersync for Twitter at plαdys.

meta

